The Mtirala National Park. Screenshot of the video by Oleg Velishko

27 July 2021, 18:33

UNESCO includes four protected areas of Georgia in World Heritage List

The tropical forests and swamps of Kolkheti are included in the UNESCO World Natural Heritage List, together with the Kolkheti National Park and the Mtirala National Park, the protected areas of Kobuleti and Kintrishi.

Natural sites of Georgia were included in the UNESCO World Natural Heritage List during the session of the World Heritage Committee held on July 26.

“Georgia, the Kolkheti tropical forests and wetlands. The site consists of seven component parts within an 80-kilometre corridor along the moderately warm and very humid eastern coast of the Black Sea,” reads the description of the territory.

According to Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili, this is an important event not only for the country, but also for the region. The UNESCO World Heritage Sites are the most important part of the Caucasus Ecoregion and the Black Sea Basin. The Prime Minister of Georgia believes the inclusion of Georgian sites in the UNESCO World Natural Heritage List will attract foreign tourists, the “Georgia-Online” reports.

This article was originally published on the Russian page of 24/7 Internet agency ‘Caucasian Knot’ on July 27, 2021 at 06:10 am MSK. To access the full text of the article, click here.

Source: CK correspondent

All news

June 17, 2024 20:36

June 17, 2024 18:48

June 16, 2024 19:05

June 15, 2024 23:10

June 15, 2024 22:55

  • Lawyers doubt prospect of bills banning religious clothes

    The bills that intend to ban wearing religious clothing, including niqabs, in public places are causing a split in the society, which is especially negative amid the special military operation (SMO) in Ukraine. Religious clothes are not widespread in the country, this issue is not relevant, therefore the bills to ban them will not be adopted, lawyers believe.

News archive